The Paul G. Hewitt Scholarship
for Future High School Physics Teachers

Paul G. Hewitt, former boxer, uranium prospector, signpainter, and cartoonist began college at the age of 28 and fell in love with physics. Hewitt's teaching career began in 1964 at City College of San Francisco. In 1971, the first edition of his famous textbook, "Conceptual Physics," was published. This book, now in its ninth edition is used all over the world and has been translated into many languages. Hewitt's conceptual approach translated the concepts of physics from mathematical language into standard English, which allowed physicists to share their world view with a wider audience. His textbook changed the way physics is taught to both nonscience and science majors as well. In recognition of Hewitt's achievements, the American Association of Physics Teachers honored him with the 1982 Millikan Award for outstanding contributions to physics teaching. It is Hewitt's dedication to quality physics teaching that led him in 2001 to establish the Paul G. Hewitt Scholarship for Future High School Physics Teachers. The intent of this scholarship is to encourage those with a love for and knowledge of physics to share their enthusiasm for the science by becoming high school physics teachers.

  • Amount: ~ $1000
  • Eligibility Requirements:
    • Physics Major - General Physics Option
    • 3.00 overall GPA
    • Regularly admitted and full-time enrolled student
  • Primary Consideration:
    • Intent to become a high school physics teacher
    • Demonstrated service to others
  • To apply you must fill out the on-line application which is available on October 1st.
  • Be sure to arrange to have a letter of recommendation sent to
  • Deadline: December 15
  • Notification: May
  • Questions:

The Paul G. Hewitt Scholarship for Future High School Physics Teachers
Award Winners

  • 2013-2014 No Award
  • 2012-2013 No Award
  • 2011-2012 No Award
  • 2010-2011 No Award
  • 2009-2010 No Award
  • 2008-2009 Jason Belveal & Chad Gillis
  • 2007-2008 Chad Gillis
  • 2006-2007 Tiara Norris
  • 2005-2006 No Award
  • 2004-2005 Daniel Bowen
  • 2003-2004 Lindsay Rowland
  • 2002-2003 David Atkinson